Google official announced the shut down date for its troubled Google+ social network: April 2. On that day, all Google+ accounts and any pages created will start being deleted. However, any photos and videos that were also backed up in Google Photos will not be affected. The search giant has posted directions on how to download an archive of your Google+ content. Read more for a video explaining why the service is shutting down and for additional information, including how to download your archive.
“To prepare for the full shutdown, Google will remove the ability to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities or events by February 4. You will also notice that Google+ sign-in buttons will stop working in the coming weeks, though you will still be able to sign in with your Google account as an alternate. Finally, if you’ve used Google+ as a comment system with Blogger, the feature will be removed by March 7, with full deletion coming on April 2,” reports Digital Trends. Click here for instructions on how to download your archived content.
“From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place. We are grateful for the talented group of artists, community builders, and thought leaders who made Google+ their home. It would not have been the same without your passion and dedication,” said Google.