Halloween Asteroid

Earth is set to be buzzed tonight by a dead comet that looks eerily like a skull. Named 2015 TB145 and located 310,000-miles away, NASA reports that it will safely brush past our planet at 78,000mph – approximately 1.3-times the distance between the Earth and the moon. “The IRTF data may indicate that the object might be a dead comet, but in the Arecibo images it appears to have donned a skull costume for its Halloween flyby,” said NASA’s Kelly Fast. Continue reading for two more videos and information.

“Asteroid 2015 TB145 will safely fly by our planet at just under 1.3 lunar distances, or about 302,000 miles (486,000 kilometers), on Halloween (Oct. 31) at 1 p.m. EDT (10 a.m. PDT, 17:00 UTC). The first radar images of the dead comet were generated by the National Science Foundation’s 305-meter (1,000-foot) Arecibo Observatory in Puerto Rico. The radar images from Arecibo indicate the object is spherical in shape and approximately 2,000 feet (600 meters) in diameter and completes a rotation about once every five hours,” according to Mail Online.