Super Blood Moon Eclipse

The total super blood moon eclipse will last over a hour and begin at 9:11 p.m. CDT (or 10:11 p.m. EDT or 7:11 p.m. PDT). While super moons aren’t rare, tonight’s will be the closest to Earth in all of 2015, coming within 221,753 miles of our planet, and it will also appear about 14 percent bigger and 30 percent brighter than usual. The last time a supermoon occurred with a total lunar eclipse was in 1982, and the next time it will happen will be in 2033. “Earth’s shadow will begin to dim the supermoon slightly beginning at 8:11 p.m. EDT. A noticeable shadow will begin to fall on the moon at 9:07 p.m., and the total eclipse will start at 10:11 p.m,” NASA says. Continue reading for another video explaining the phenomenon, and more information.

“In a total lunar eclipse this Sunday (Sept. 27), the surface of the moon will appear to be a deep crimson color, and people around the world will be able to watch the celestial spectacle online. The so-called supermoon lunar eclipse will be visible in most of North America, South America, Europe, Africa, western Asia and the eastern Pacific Ocean,” reports Space.com.